UK Counties

A county usually forms the upper level of local government in an area. Since the 1990s, many larger towns and cities have become unitary authorities for governmental purposes. Additionally, the governmental structures in the four countries of the UK vary. The lists below are based on current ceremonial counties.

England	Northern Ireland	Scotland	Wales
Bedfordshire Berkshire Bristol Buckinghamshire Cambridgeshire Cheshire City of London Cornwall Cumbria Derbyshire Devon Dorset Durham East Riding of Yorkshire East Sussex Essex Gloucestershire Greater London Greater Manchester Hampshire Herefordshire Herefordshire Isle of Wight Kent Lancashire Leicestershire Lincolnshire Merseyside Norfolk North Yorkshire Northamptonshire Northamptonshire Northamptonshire Northumberland Nottinghamshire Oxfordshire Rutland Shropshire Somerset South Yorkshire Staffordshire Staffordshire Suffolk Surrey Sussex Tyne & Wear Warwickshire West Midlands West Sussex West Yorkshire Wiltshire Worcestershire	Antrim Armagh Down Fermanagh Londonderry Tyrone	ScottandCity of AberdeenAberdeenshireAngusArgyllAyrshireBanffshireBerwickshireButeCaithness ClackmannanshireDumfriesshire DunbartonshireCity of DundeeEast LothianCity of EdinburghFifeCity of Glasgow Inverness-shire KincardineshireKinross-shireKirkcudbrightshireLanarkshireMidlothianMorayNairnshireOrkneyPeeblesshirePerthshireRoss and CromartyRoxburghshire SelkirkshireShetlandStirlingshireSutherlandWest Lothian Wigtownshire	Blaenau Gwent Bridgend Caerphilly Carmarthenshire Ceredigion Swansea Cardiff Conwy Denbighshire Flintshire Gwynedd Isle of Anglesey Merthyr Tydfil Monmouthshire Neath Port Talbot Newport Pembrokeshire Powys Rhondda Cynon Taf Torfaen Vale of Glamorgan Wrexham



